Forensic Molecular Biology

In the past 20 years forensic molecular biology has faced substantial technological developments. Short Tandem Repeat (STR) loci have become the golden standard for (human) identification in crime case, ID and paternity case work. National DNA databases that consist of STR-profiles serve as powerful intelligence tool to combat crime even across boarders. Major developments have been witnessed in the field of the uniparentally inherited genomes mitochondrial and Y-chromosomal DNA. Also, the application of X-chromosomal markers has found a vital niche in forensic DNA analysis. Molecular photofitting is one of the current and future key research topics, which involves the prediction of the geographical source as well as physical traits of an individual by analysis of its DNA.

Our research group has contributed to these developments with varying focus.

96 well PCR plate

Team members

Prof. Parson Walther, PhD
Prof. Parson Walther, PhD
Prof. Parson Walther, PhD

Phone: +43 512 9003 70640
walther.parson@i-med.ac.at

Prof. Hatzer-Grubwieser Petra, MD
Prof. Hatzer-Grubwieser Petra, MD
Prof. Hatzer-Grubwieser Petra, MD

Phone: +43 512 9003 70640
petra.hatzer-grubwieser@i-med.ac.at

Berger Burkhard, PhD, MSc
Berger Burkhard, PhD, MSc
Berger Burkhard, PhD, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70640
burkhard.berger@i-med.ac.at

Berger Cordula, PhD, MSc
Berger Cordula, PhD, MSc
Berger Cordula, PhD, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70640
cordula.berger@i-med.ac.at

Zimmermann Bettina, PhD, MSc
Zimmermann Bettina, PhD, MSc
Zimmermann Bettina, PhD, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70640
bettina.zimmermann@i-med.ac.at

Bodner Martin, MSc, BSc
Bodner Martin, MSc, BSc
Bodner Martin, MSc, BSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
martin.bodner@i-med.ac.at

Mayr-Eduardoff Mayra, MSc
Mayr-Eduardoff Mayra, MSc
Mayr-Eduardoff Mayra, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
mayra.eduardoff@i-med.ac.at

Niederstätter Harald, MSc
Niederstätter Harald, MSc
Niederstätter Harald, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
harald.niederstaetter@i-med.ac.at

Huber Gabriela, BSc
 
Huber Gabriela, BSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
gabriela.e.huber@i-med.ac.at

Strobl Christina, MSc
Strobl Christina, MSc
Strobl Christina, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
christina.strobl@i-med.ac.at

Xavier Catarina, MSc
Xavier Catarina, MSc
Xavier Catarina, MSc

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
catarina.gomes@i-med.ac.at

Kralj Petra, BSc BA
Kralj Petra, BSc BA
Kralj Petra, BSc BA

Phone: +43 512 9003 70600
petra.kralj@i-med.ac.at

Former Team members

Amory Sylvain, PhD, MSc
Bauer Christiane Maria, PhD, MSc
Brandstätter Anita, PhD, DI, MSc
Erhart Daniel, MSc
Fendt Liane, PhD, MSc
Göbel Tanja, MSc
Irwin Jodi, PhD, MSc
Lubei Verena, PhD, MSc
Pegoraro Karin, PhD
Pitterl Florian, PhD, MSc
Röck Alexander, PhD, DI, BSc
Schwarz Konrad, DI
Wagner Janine, MSc

Projects

The following list provides an overview and outlines relevant projects.

  1. EDNAP forensic mtDNA population database (EMPOP)
  2. High-Resolution Analysis of Y-chromosome Variability in Selected Regions of the Tyrolean Alps (Austria): Influences of Topology and Demographic History on the Genetic Differentiation
  3. Quantitative DNA analysis and other applications of real-time PCR
  4. Canine DNA Profiling in forensic casework
Home » Research » Forensic Molecular Biology